Do your worse! whats the worse that can happen?


Since 12 January 2012  the price of weekday and Saturday editions to rise by 20p, to £1.40 and £2.30. As prices for print goes up an increase in accessibility to online editions of the guardian has created a divide between print and online users. How has this effected reader? If we analyse the data produced by regulators, the online Guardian‘s debut iPad edition downloaded 145,880 times in the week since launch.  Evidently from this the figures show people are looking for the easiest way to access news and share. Along side the app its new Facebook app got “1000000 downloads”, with content shorter and focused on media elements for people accessing the internet on mobiles, pads, and laptops this is a more sensible option than print.

 

Illustration by MEESON

“The internet does not claim to operate by any particular ethical standards, still less high ones. Some have called it a ‘wild west’ but I would prefer to use the term ‘ethical vacuum’,” it reads. “The internet does not claim to operate by express ethical standards, so that bloggers and others may, if they choose, act with impunity.” Lord Justice Leveson’s speech.

Lord Justice Leveson’s report suggests there is a “qualitative difference” between seeing, for example, pictures posted online versus on the front page of a national newspaper, noting “people will not assume that what they read on the internet is trustworthy or that it carries any particular assurance or accuracy”.

The results, published in a new dataset launched by the National Readership Survey (NRS), show the number of readers of the Guardian a month was recorded on average as 4.08 million, compared to a website readership of 6.41 million.

“We think this report shows the real value of our digital first strategy: we have built a larger audience than ever before for our journalism without resorting to stunts or bought-in celebrity fluff.” [Journalism.com]

Below are more of the monthly figures published today. The numbers shown, from left to right, are for print readership (NRS), online readership (UKOM/Nielsen) and the newly released combined readership.

The Daily Telegraph, telegraph.co.uk
4.47m, 5.39m, 8.82m

The Guardian, guardian.co.uk
4.08m, 6.41m, 8.95m

The Independent, independent.co.uk
3.12m, 2.58m, 5.32m

The Times, thetimes.co.uk
5.52m, 295,000, 5.74m

Financial Times, ft.com
1.60m, 813,000, 2.34m

Daily Express, express.co.uk
4.22m, 486,000, 4.67m

Daily Mail, dailymail.co.uk
11.77m, 6.82m, 16.43m

Daily Mirror, mirror.co.uk
9.12m, 1.91m, 10.59m

Daily Record, dailyrecord.co.uk
1.83m, 647,000, 2.42m

Daily Star, dailystar.co.uk
4.27m, 385,000, 4.61m

The Sun, thesun.co.uk
16.09m, 3.29m, 17.79m

London Evening Standard, thisislondon.co.uk
4.54m, 531,000, 4.94m

Metro, metro.co.uk
10.73m, 1.68m, 11.82m

(Dundee) Courier and Advertiser, thecourier.co.uk
297,000, 96,000, 387,000

(Glasgow) Ev. Times, eveningtimes.co.uk
449,000, 65,000, 513,000

The Herald, heraldscotland.com
483,000, 225,000, 697,000

The Scotsman, scotsman.com
459,000, 513,000, 940,000

Yorkshire Post, yorkshirepost.co.uk
675,000, 241,000, 907,000

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s