Serena Williams hits back against Li Na to claim seventh Miami Masters title


Tennis: Sony Open-WilliamsSerena Williams deafets Li Na in straight-sets to win the Sony Open title for the seventh time in Miami. The 32-year-old world No1, knocked out Maria Sharapova in their semi-final on Thursday, claimed a 7-5 6-1 triumph over her Chinese opponent in just under two hours.The Miami final was Williams’ ninth  Sony Open; Serene held off Li, who took a 5-2 lead in the first set, before the American fought back to win it 7-5. Williams carried her momentum into the second set, leaving the world No2 struggling as the eventual winner took 11 of the last 12 games to seal the victory.

Williams, who had not won a title this year since the opening week of the season, was delighted with her win and thanked her fans for their support

She told wtatennis.com: “It was a really important victory, especially playing Li Na, who has been playing so well

“She started out so well – I was like ‘oh my gosh, I just need to hang in here’. Then I heard some fans trying to pull me through – if it hadn’t been for you guys I wouldn’t be standing here right now.”

Li was disappointed with her loss and praised her opponent before thanking her team. “I have to say well done to Serena – you had a very good two weeks here. Keeping healthy is the most important thing for me, and just trying to do the best I can. Of course I want to thank my team as well.”

 

5 responses to “Serena Williams hits back against Li Na to claim seventh Miami Masters title

    • HI, That would be awesome. I’m happy that you enjoy my blog and would like to enjoy it.

      Many Thanks
      Kanndiss

      p.s attach your twitter I’d love to follow any reader that appreciates my writing

  1. Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my blog thus i got here to return the prefer?.I am trying to to find things to improve my site!I assume its
    ok to make use of some of your concepts!!

Leave a Reply

